When Irish eyes are smiling ’tis like the morn in Spring.

16 Mar

Happy almost St. Patrick’s Day! I seem to never really do anything for the celebration of St. Patrick’s Day and I am not sure why – it sneaks up on me every year and I don’t really plan for it. It’s a great holiday though and green is my favorite color. My mom claims to be Irish and tells the tale of how my great-great-great grandmother came over on a half rotting ship from Killarney and Kilkenny of County Cork (that is quite fun to say fast).

My sister, paler than me, always embraced her Irish Heritage as I seemed to embrace the Native American that my grandfather on my dad’s side claim to be, Sioux to be exact  (I am a mutt).  Playing house, my sis lived in a seaside cottage, I lived in a tipi.  She collected little knick knacks with Irish blessings scrolled across them in some type of calligraphy and forever won my mother’ s heart by continuing to practice Catholicism. I collected dream weavers and feathers while tracking mud through the house.

and now back to the color green -

Green means Spring which means backpacking, hiking, frisbee, attempting to mountain bike and being outside whenever possible, and not using the phrase “it’s already dark outside” or “it’s too cold” to get some of the projects done that have been stirring in my head!

First To-Do: Paint and hang a window from my porch. Attach window box to said hanging window. Plant brightly colored flowers in window box on hanging window.

See picture for somewhat of and idea as to what I am trying to accomplish.

Second To-Do: Herbs – plant some. I am drawing inspiration from the following:

Hanging Coffee Cup Her Garden

Hanging on Wall Herb Garden

Herb Garden out of Show Organizer Garden

Third To-Do: Create a bird bath inexpensively…

So Here’s to Mr. St. Patty and Spring.

I will leave you with the irish lullaby my mom use to butcher sing:

There’s a tear in your eye,
And I’m wondering why,
For it never should be there at all.
With such pow’r in your smile,
Sure a stone you’d beguile,
So there’s never a teardrop should fall.
When your sweet lilting laughter’s
Like some fairy song,
And your eyes twinkle bright as can be;
You should laugh all the while
And all other times smile,
And now, smile a smile for me.

When Irish eyes are smiling,
Sure, ’tis like the morn in Spring.
In the lilt of Irish laughter
You can hear the angels sing.
When Irish hearts are happy,
All the world seems bright and gay.
And when Irish eyes are smiling,
Sure, they steal your heart away.

For your smile is a part
Of the love in your heart,
And it makes even sunshine more bright.
Like the linnet’s sweet song,
Crooning all the day long,
Comes your laughter and light.
For the springtime of life
Is the sweetest of all
There is ne’er a real care or regret;
And while springtime is ours
Throughout all of youth’s hours,
Let us smile each chance we get.

When Irish eyes are smiling,
Sure, ’tis like the morn in Spring.
In the lilt of Irish laughter
You can hear the angels sing.
When Irish hearts are happy,
All the world seems bright and gay.
And when Irish eyes are smiling,
Sure, they steal your heart away.

Till Next Time when I will hopefully be showing you one of these projects completed -

B

 

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

